The International Zavoisky Award 2011

Professor Seigo Yamauchi is distinguished for his contribution to multi-resonance and multi-frequency time-resolved EPR spectroscopy in elucidating the electronic structures of excited states in organic and metallo-organic complexes.

Professor Seigo Yamauchi  

Professor Seigo Yamauchi

Professor Seigo Yamauchi works at the Tohoku University, Sendai (Japan). The Yamauchi EPR laboratory in Sendai excels by its scientific staff and its highly motivated students, by its state-of-the-art instrumentation for pulsed multi-frequency EPR spectroscopy (mostly laboratory-built) and its scientific and personal attraction for international cooperation partners.

Up to now his outstanding work was recognized by the awards:

  • International EPR/ESR Society Award: Silver Medal in Chemistry 2001,
  • The Chemical Society of Japan Award for Creative Work 2003,
  • The Society of Electron Spin Science and Technology (SEST) Award 2007,
  • The Japanese Photochemistry Association (JPA) Lectureship Award 2010.

Research Areas Scientific interests of Seigo Yamauchi are focused on new fields of EPR methodological developments and applications, focusing on spin chemistry in excited states, spin polarization phenomena in chemical reactions, and new materials in molecular sciences. In the last years, he works actively in the field of multi-resonance and multi-frequency EPR spectroscopy on excited porphyrin and fullerene complexes as well as on proteins and biological models systems.