The International Zavoisky Award 2006

Jan Schmidt is distinguished for his contribution to high-field and high-frequency pulsed EPR and ENDOR techniques applied to semiconductor nanomaterials.

Professor Jan Schmidt (Huygens Laboratory, Leiden, the Netherlands) is a member of editorial boards of several international scientific journals.

He was already awarded the Silver Medal (instrumentation) of the International EPR(ESR) Society (1995), Bruker Prize (1999), Ampère Prize (2000), and Jacob Kistemaker Prize (2001).

The EPR activity of Jan Schmidt has two components. The first is to determine the electronic structure and dynamics of molecules and active centers related to chemistry, biochemistry and materials by electron paramagnetic resonance (EPR) and other spectroscopic techniques. The other component is instrumental and method development to improve the sensitivity and resolution of EPR. His group has been a pioneer of high-field EPR, with the first pulsed 95 GHz (W-band) spectrometer, and the most recent development, a 275 GHz EPR spectrometer.

Professor Jan Schmidt

Professor Jan Schmidt